< Back to Blog
Article

Amazon Prefab Houses 2026: Shell, Shed, or Dwelling

November 4, 2026
Kai Andrew
Kai Andrew

If you want a prefab house from Amazon that you can rent to guests as a dwelling, none of the units below arrives certified as one. The prefab “houses” listed on Amazon are kit shells, shed kits, and folding steel units, and none of the 4 makers here states a U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) label or a state modular approval. The lowest price per square foot is the Jamaica Cottage Shop shell at $59, uninsulated. The lowest for an insulated kit is Star Energy’s 675-square-foot structural insulated panel (SIP) kit, starting at $64 per square foot, with plumbing, electrical, and the foundation extra.

Each product below is listed on Amazon. Prices, sizes, and inclusions come from the maker’s own site, linked in each row. Where a maker does not publish a figure, ask for it before you pay a deposit.

The Ranked Table

Ranked on published price divided by published size.

Rank Product and maker Type Price as published Size Price per sq ft What the price includes, as the maker states it Code or certification, as the maker states it
1Vermont Cottage A 16x20, Complete Shell, Jamaica Cottage ShopPre-cut kit$18,925.94320 sq ft footprint, plus loft$59Floor system, wall and roof framing, siding, metal roof, door, and windows. UninsulatedFollows International Code Council (ICC) codes "whenever possible"
2Tiny Home Kit, 1 bed, 1 bath, Star EnergySIP kitStarting at $42,999675 sq ft$64Wall and roof panels, interior framing, windows, exterior doors, and hardware. Floor panels are $5,250 extraNot stated. The maker says to check local and state regulations
3Vermont Cottage A 16x20, 3-Season, Jamaica Cottage ShopPre-cut kit$22,047.49320 sq ft footprint, plus loft$69The shell, plus an insulated floor, vapor barrier on walls and roof, and solid roof sheathingSame as rank 1
4Vermont Cottage A 16x20, 4-Season, Jamaica Cottage ShopPre-cut kit$34,267.35320 sq ft footprint, plus loft$107The shell, plus floor, wall, and roof insulation, pine interior walls and ceiling, double-pane windows, and an insulated doorSame as rank 1
Not ranked20 ft 2-bedroom folding house, EROMMYExpandable steel unit$19,999 deposit. Final price not published408 sq ft expandedNot publishedKitchen cabinets, sink, bathroom with shower and toilet, insulated wall panels, and double-glazed windows. Shown as sold outNot stated
Not rankedWood shed kits, Best BarnsStorage shed kitNot publishedVaries by modelNot publishedThe shed structureNot stated. The maker points to local code requirements for human occupancy

The Jamaica Cottage Shop page also shows a 10% sale price, and this guide uses the regular prices. Star Energy says its prices may vary with the market price of lumber and other raw materials.

What “Prefab House” Means on Amazon

The 4 makers sell 3 different things.

  • A kit shell. Jamaica Cottage Shop ships a pre-cut lumber package. Its frequently asked questions page says it does not ship electrical or plumbing with pre-cut kits, that site preparation is the customer’s responsibility, and that a 4- to 6-week lead time is common. Star Energy rates its tiny home kits at R-23 in the walls and R-30 in the roof. Its kit page excludes the foundation, and adds electrical and plumbing only on request, at extra cost.
  • A shed kit. Best Barns makes wood storage sheds. Its FAQ says some customers have converted kits into living space, and lists the limits: Local code for human occupancy, uninsulated optional windows, 2x4 trusses that are difficult to insulate, and dormers and barn or sliding doors that cannot be insulated.
  • A folding steel unit. Amazon lists these as expandable container houses. EROMMY sells this type of unit on its own store, where the 20 ft unit currently shows as sold out. EROMMY gives the final price after you pay the deposit and choose the configuration. Its 40 ft unit weighs 14,771 pounds and needs a crane to unload.

HUD Code, Modular, and Where These Units Fit

Federal rules define a manufactured home in Title 24 of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), section 3280.2. It is built on a permanent chassis, designed as a dwelling, and includes its plumbing, heating, air-conditioning, and electrical systems. Each section carries a metal certification label, the HUD tag. None of the 4 makers says its unit is built on a chassis or carries a HUD label.

A modular home is the other certified route. The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) says modular homes in Texas are built to the same codes as site-built housing and must sit on a permanent foundation, and the builder must show where the decal or insignia is on the module. None of the 4 makers states a state modular approval.

Jamaica Cottage Shop says your local building department grants final approval of its kits.

What Each Price Leaves Out

  • Foundation. Jamaica Cottage Shop and Star Energy exclude it. EROMMY does not mention one.
  • Plumbing and electrical. Jamaica Cottage Shop does not ship them with pre-cut kits. Star Energy adds them at extra cost. EROMMY lists plumbing for the 20 ft unit and does not describe the electrical system.
  • Delivery. Jamaica Cottage Shop’s free shipping requires a business address and equipment to unload the kit.

For the costs after the unit, see the cost of prefab homes. The owner in the garden shed playbook reports roughly $100,000 to build out and furnish the shed, and $20,000 per unit for utilities on raw land. No maker publishes revenue figures.

What the Table Says

Compare what each kit includes before you compare price per square foot. The Jamaica Cottage Shop shell is $59 per square foot without insulation. The 4-Season version of the same cottage is $107 with insulation and interior walls.

None of these units arrives as a certified dwelling. No maker in the table states a HUD label or a state modular approval. Plan for a building permit and inspections.

Treat a shed kit as storage until your building department approves it for occupancy. Best Barns lists 4 parts of its sheds that are not insulated or are difficult to insulate.

Get the final price in writing before you pay a deposit. EROMMY takes a $19,999 deposit before it quotes a final price.

Before You Order

3 checks before a deposit, in order.

  1. Read the zoning. Use the zoning rules guide. Ask the building department whether it will permit the unit as a dwelling, and ask the county whether short stays are allowed.
  2. Price the ground. Run the lot through the site-prep cost estimator. No price above includes a foundation.
  3. Confirm the loan. Start with the lender locator. Ask whether the lender finances a kit built under a local permit, or only a HUD-code or modular home.

For finished units, see the 8 best prefab cabins, rated. For the trade-offs of prefab for a rental, read the truth about prefab homes. For larger kits, see prefab home kits. For related comparisons, see prefab container homes and prefab cabin kits.

Host Camp is not a licensed tax, legal, or financial adviser. Confirm figures for your situation with a professional.

‍

0 Comments
Active Here: 0
Be the first to leave a comment.
Profile image placeholder
Circle Loading Orange
Loading
Profile image placeholder
No Name
Set
This is the actual comment. It's can be long or short. And must contain only text information.
(Edited)
Your comment will appear once approved by a moderator.
Profile image placeholder
No Name
Set
This is the actual comment. It's can be long or short. And must contain only text information.
(Edited)
Your comment will appear once approved by a moderator.
2 years ago
0
0
Load More
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Load More
Circle Loading Orange
Excited person in glasses and backwards cap against yellow background

CREATE A
FREE ACCOUNT

Get access to:
👉 Free Guides & Templates
👉 Free Tools
👉 Free Webinars
🔥 & More!
Sign Up
By clicking “Accept All Cookies”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts. View our Privacy Policy for more information.